Problem-Solving Sociology

Problem-solving sociology uses sociological insights and ideas to solve social problems, and uses the solving of social problems to advance sociological theory.  See this brief introduction and this theoretical discussion, listen to a podcast, or order the book.


We currently run the following initiatives:


To subscribe to our mailing list, click hereContact Monica Prasad if you would like to start a new reading group or discussion group or conference or workshop or other initiative under the problem-solving umbrella.

Upcoming Events

(Sign up here to present at a virtual coffee hour or here to present at the problem-solving ethnography workshop.)


Monday, April 22, 2024 at 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern

Problem-Solving Ethnography Workshop with Kyle Nelson

The Methodological Foundations of 'Doing Policy' in Academic Ethnography


Friday, May 3, 2024 at 12pm Pacific / 3pm Eastern

Virtual Coffee Hour with Neil Gong and Alex Barnard 

Fixing Public Psychiatric Care


Monday, June 3, 2024 at 9am-4pm Eastern

Solving Global Poverty Virtual Paper Workshop 


Date & Time: TBD

Session at the 2024 Annual Meeting of the American Sociological Association 

Theory and The World’s Problems: Perspectives on Using Sociology to Create Change


October 18-20, 2024 at Johns Hopkins University

10th Annal Sociology of Development Conference, "Solving Global Poverty"

Mirta Toledo, "Pure Diversity"