Problem Solving Sociology

Problem-solving sociology uses sociological insights and ideas to solve social problems, and uses the solving of social problems to advance sociological theory. See this brief introduction and this theoretical discussion, or pre-order the book.


To subscribe to our mailing list, click here.


Sign up here to present at our monthly "virtual coffee hours" (run by Ji-won Lee of University at Albany, SUNY) or here to meet one random problem-solving sociologist every month. There are also reading groups and a Facebook group (run by Theresa Beardall of Virginia Tech), and we hold annual dissertation proposal development workshops for graduate students. And see here for advice on running a problem-solving workshop at your university.


This community is growing, and we welcome new ideas for how to bring problem-solving sociologists together. Contact Monica Prasad if you would like to start a new reading group or discussion group or conference or workshop or other initiative under the problem-solving umbrella.


Look out for a book on problem solving sociology forthcoming from Oxford University Press in 2021!


Upcoming Events

(For more info about these events click here. Sign up here if you would like to present.)


August 6, 10am Central / 11am Eastern

Introduction to Problem-Solving Sociology (Gather.town link) (Description)


August 7, 3:15 to 4:40pm Central / 4:15 to 5:40pm Eastern

(How) Should Sociology Solve Problems? (access through the ASA Virtual Annual Meeting Portal; only available to meeting registrants) (Description)


November 19, 2pm Central

Virtual Coffe Hour with Brittany Friedman (Zoom Link)


December 3, 2pm Central

Virtual Coffe Hour with Devin Wiggs (Zoom Link)

Mirta Toledo, "Pure Diversity"